Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Help pass the Child Victims Act Today! Email key Senators

Your emails to key Senators are critical for it's passage.Thank you so much for your continued support!
Help Us Pass the Child Victims Act NOW!
More Info
Your help is needed today.
Help us Pass the Child Victms Act NOW!
Dear Members and Supporters of NOW-NYS:
One in four women has reported to have been abused as children. A critical vote that could provide protection for children and justice for victims of child sexual abuse will be taken in the NYS Senate Codes Committee on Wednesday, June 2. The Child Victims Act would extend the statute of limitations and open a one-year window for those who have been unfairly and sometimes criminally denied justice through cover ups. You would be of great help if you could do the following. But you must do it now so your email will be in Albany before the end of the day, Tuesday, June 1st.
Send emails to the following Codes Committee members. I have provided you with a sample letter below.

Senator Bonacic: Bonacic@senate.state.ny.us
Senator DeFrancisco: DeFranc@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Duane: Duane@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Flanagan: Flanagan@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Klein: Klein@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Saland: Saland@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Sampson: Sampson@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Schneiderman: Schneide@senate.state.ny.us
Senator Squadron: Squadron@senate.state.ny.us  
Sample Letter:

Re: Child Victims Act (CVA) (S.5893a, Sen. Ruth Hassell-Thompson)

Dear Senator (name)
New York's girls need protection from predators. New York's victims deserve justice.
Children and families throughout NY State are suffering from the terrible trauma of child sexual abuse. They have been devastated not by "strangers" but in institutions entrusted with the care of children, or by family members and acquaintances.
New York families desperately need your help. The sexual abusers of children are found everywhere--in schools, churches, synagogues, youth groups - and most of all in families. The majority of predators are life-long violators, some with as many as 100 victims. Research shows that 1 in 5 children will be abused. One in four women has reported to have been abused a children.
Please let the full Senate vote on the Child Victims Act (CVA). New Yorkers have spoken by generating more than 62,000 petitions supporting the CVA.
Please support S5893A when it comes before the Codes Committee so the full Senate can debate and vote.
Thank you,
(Your Name, address and zip)
Thank you for the work you are doing on behalf of women and girls.  You can JOIN or DONATE to NOW on www.nownys.org
In Sisterhood and For Equality,
Marcia Pappas President of NOW-NYS

No comments: