Friday, April 20, 2012

Time to Thank our Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) Allies!

As I mentioned in previous emailsthe National Organization for Women (NOW) - especially Pat Reuss - were the driving forces behind drafting and passing the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA).  We continue to fight to get it reauthorized.  Please contact your senators and ask them to support this crucial bill to save the lives of children, women and men.

N. Jerin Arifa

National NOW Board of Directors

National NOW Young Feminist Task Force, Chair

NOW – NYS Young Feminist Task Force, Chair

National Organization for Women (NOW)


April 20, 2012


Please forward to everyone you know who cares about ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking!


VAWA is live in the Senate – Let's thank our supporters and tell them we appreciate their vote for S. 1925!


S. 1925 has been filed as a "motion to proceed" in the Senate and is likely to be debated on the Senate floor next week.   There will likely be an alternative bill offered as a substitute, and perhaps other harmful amendments, so we want to make sure that S. 1925, the real VAWA, which has key provisions that will protect all victims, is the bill that passes.  Take a moment to thank our supporters and tell them you are proud of their support of S. 1925 and all of the important provisions that provide better access to law enforcement for women in Indian country, better access for immigrant women who fear deportation if they report violence, and better access for LGBT victims who are facing barriers accessing services.


ACTION:  Call the below Senators and tell them "Thank you for sponsoring S. 1925 – the only bill that protects ALL victims of violence.  We appreciate that you will vote to keep all of the critical provisions, including those protections for Tribal women, immigrants and LGBT victims, in the bill.  We are behind you!"  


If you talk to staff, ask for their email so you can send them these three fact sheets:  Tribal, immigration and LGBT.

Start with our valiant Republican sponsors – they are under pressure from all sides and need to know you consider them stars:

Ayotte, Kelly - (R - NH) (202) 224-3324 Judiciary: John Lawrence, Women: Daniel Auger

Brown, Scott P. - (R - MA) (202) 224-4543

Collins, Susan M. - (R - ME) (202) 224-2523 Judiciary: Rich Houghton, Women: Kenneth Altman, Lorinda Harris

Crapo, Mike - (R - ID) (202) 224-6142

Heller, Dean - (R - NV) ) (202) 224-6244 Judiciary and Women's Issues LA: Leeann Gibson

Kirk, Mark - (R - IL) (202) 224-2854

Murkowski, Lisa - (R - AK) (202) 224-6665 Judiciary LA: Nathan Bergerbest, Women's Issues LA: Amanda Makki

Snowe, Olympia J. - (R - ME) (202) 224-5344 Women's Issues LA: Amy Pellegrino


Next, our Democratic women champions:



Dianne Feinstein D (202) 224-3841 Judiciary LA: Neil Quinter, Women's Issues: Nora Connors, Devin Rhinerson

Barbara Boxer D (202) 224-3553  Judiciary LA: Derrick Brent, Women's Issues LA: Cerin Lindgrensavage



Mary Landrieu D (202) 224-5824 CoS: Jane Campbell, Leg Dir: Elizabeth Craddock, Judiciary: Angelique Roche



Barbara Mikulski D (202) 224-4654 Judiciary and women's issues LA: Teri Curtis



Debbie Stabenow D (202) 224-4822 Judiciary LA: Jason LaGosh, Women's Issues LA: Alex Sheff



Amy Klobuchar D (202) 224-3244 Judiciary LA: Craig Kalkut, Women's Issues LA: Elizabeth Frosch



Claire McCaskill D (202) 224-6154  Judiciary and women's issues LA: Derron Parks


New Hampshire

Jeanne Shaheen D (202) 224-2841 Judiciary LA: Emily Livingston, Women's issues: Alison MacDonald


New York

Kirsten Gillibrand (202) 224-4451 Judiciary and women's issues LA: Michele Jawando


North Carolina

Kay Hagan D (202) 224-6342 Judiciary and women's issues LA: Tracy Zvenyach



Patty Murray D (202) 224-2621

Judiciary LA: Jason Park, Women's Issues LA: Paula Burg

Maria Cantwell D (202) 224-3441

Judiciary and women's issues LA: Janel George


And finally all the other wonderful sponsors:


Leahy, Patrick J. - (D - VT)

Akaka, Daniel K. - (D - HI)

Baucus, Max - (D - MT)

Begich, Mark - (D - AK)

Bennet, Michael F. - (D - CO)

Bingaman, Jeff - (D - NM)

Blumenthal, Richard - (D - CT)

Brown, Sherrod - (D - OH)

Cardin, Benjamin L. - (D - MD)

Carper, Thomas R. - (D - DE)

Casey, Robert P., Jr. - (D - PA)

Conrad, Kent - (D - ND)

Coons, Christopher A. - (D - DE)

Durbin, Richard J. - (D - IL)

Franken, Al - (D - MN)

Harkin, Tom - (D - IA)

Inouye, Daniel K. - (D - HI)

Johnson, Tim - (D - SD)

Kerry, John F. - (D - MA)

Kohl, Herb - (D - WI)

Lautenberg, Frank R. - (D - NJ)

Levin, Carl - (D - MI)

Lieberman, Joseph I. - (ID - CT)

Manchin, Joe, III - (D - WV)

Menendez, Robert - (D - NJ)

Merkley, Jeff - (D - OR)

Nelson, Ben - (D - NE)

Nelson, Bill - (D - FL)

Pryor, Mark L. - (D - AR)

Reed, Jack - (D - RI)

Reid, Harry - (D-NV)

Rockefeller, John  - (D - WV)

Sanders, Bernard - (I - VT)

Schumer, Charles E. - (D - NY)

Tester, Jon - (D - MT)

Udall, Mark - (D - CO)

Udall, Tom - (D - NM)

Warner, Mark R. - (D - VA)

Webb, Jim - (D - VA)

Whitehouse, Sheldon - (D - RI)

Wyden, Ron - (D - OR)

No comments: